skip to content

Materials Chemistry Group


Dr Tiesheng Wang

PhD, MRes, BEng

Postdoctoral Researcher

Warden of Molecular Materials Lab, the University of Sydney



Tiesheng Wang (王铁胜) is currently a PDRA at School of Chemistry, The University of Sydney. He is developing MOF-guest systems, MOFs and their derivatives in Functional Inorganic Materials Group with Prof. Deanna D'Alessandro. Tiesheng received his BEng in Materials Science and Engineering from Imperial College London mentored by Prof. Mary P. Ryan FREng and Dr Fang Xie. He obtained MRes from EPSRC Sensor CDT at the University of Cambridge (Darwin College) and did his PhD study in Materials Science (Sensor Technologies and Applications) at the University of Cambridge (Darwin College) supervised by Dr Stoyan K. Smoukov and Prof. R. Vasant Kumar and working closely with Prof. Anthony K. Cheetham FRS.

Selected Publications

(1) Tiesheng Wang #, Lijun Gao #, Jingwei Hou, Servann J. A. Herou, James T. Griffiths, Weiwei Li, Jinhu Dong, Song Gao, Maria-Magdalena Titirici, R. Vasant Kumar, Anthony K. Cheetham, Xinhe Bao, Qiang Fu*, Stoyan K. Smoukov*, Rational Approach to Guest Confinement inside MOF Cavities for Low-Temperature Catalysis, (, Nature Communications, 2019, 10, 1340 (# Co-first author)

(2) Tiesheng Wang, Hyun-Kyung Kim, Yingjun Liu, Weiwei Li, James T. Griffiths, Yue Wu, Sourav Laha, Kara D. Fong, Filip Podjaski, Chao Yun, R. Vasant Kumar, Bettina V. Lotsch, Anthony K. Cheetham, Stoyan K. Smoukov*, Bottom-up Formation of Carbon-Based Structures with Multilevel Hierarchy from MOF–Guest Polyhedra, (, Journal of the American Chemical Society, 2018, 140 (19), pp 6130–6136

(3) Tiesheng Wang, Meisam Farajollahi, Sebastian Henke,Tongtong Zhu, Sneha R. Bajpe, Shijing Sun, Jonathan S. Barnard, June Sang Lee, John D.W. Madden, Anthony K. Cheetham, Stoyan K. Smoukov*, Functional Conductive Nanomaterials via Polymerisation in Nano-channels: PEDOT in a MOF, (, Materials Horizons, 2017, 4 (1), pp 64–71

(4) Tiesheng Wang, Meisam Farajollahi, Yeon Sik Choi, I-Ting Lin, Jean E. Marshall, Noel M. Thompson, Sohini Kar-Narayan, John D. W. Madden, Stoyan K. Smoukov*, Electroactive Polymers for Sensing, (, Interface Focus, 2016, 6 (4), 20160026


Google Scholar: